A Glimpse Into My Life

See it through my eyes & understand me a little more

October Intentions

One of the first things you can do to grow spiritually is to let go of any preconceived ideas you have about spiritual growth and your current level of evolution.

Spiritual Growth: Being Your Higher Self

Theme for this month – balance, restoration and reacquainting myself with my power.

1. Secure a job as a Research Analyst.

One thing that really excites me is doing this type of work, it’s why I went to school for policy. My month would be alright if I were to secure a new position that would allow me to do this. Also, it would help me reach some of my financial goals which are always at the back of my mind now.

2. Rest!

I am NOT Superwoman. I’m not Batgirl. Hell, I’m not even Mrs. Incredible and she was known for being stretchy. So I have to stop acting like it. One thing that I’ve noticed that has been more of a barrier than something that fully supports me is that I work. Sometimes I work too much. This month, I’m going to practice a Days Off tactic (I did it yesterday and loved it!) with the hope that it helps me create much-needed balance.

3. Run 30 miles.

I’ve wanted to get back into running for a while now and I even ran once last week. I’m so proud of that (mostly because it was hot as shit at 6:30am when I went to do it). This month will be the one that I actually knock down a real running goal – 30 miles across 31 days? That’s more than doable.

4.  Ph.D. Prep

I’ve narrowed down my list of programs that are awesome enough for all of my awesome! Now I’m going to really get to studying. It’s going to take a lot of balance and even more of limiting distractions because I plan to log 90 hours of GRE study time. With my goal being to have all of my materials assembled for my application by November 15th, I’m going to have to commit to being unavailable. And I think I’m okay with that.

5.  Sell out my Resume Workshops.

This month I’m doing something new with the help of some great people. As you may or may not know, I have a business, Professional By Design NOLA. I’m currently not having the impact I want to have but this idea has been in the works for a while. So I’ll name it and claim it. More information forthcoming.

So that’s it. Five intentions – (1) secure an analyst job; (2) rest when necessary; (3) run 30 miles; (4) study for the GRE and assemble my application packets and (5) sell out my resume workshop. I can’t wait to report on all of the success I’ve had when I do a recap.

What are your monthly intentions? Why did you set them?

Leave a Reply

