A Glimpse Into My Life

See it through my eyes & understand me a little more

Looking Forward to September (#31WriteNow)

August has finally come to a close! WHEW!!!! Even though I’m blessed with the gift of “foresight,” I can honestly say that August took me on a very unexpected ride. Some major things happened in August and I thought I was prepared for what my decisions meant.

I learned that I was WRONG!

But it’s okay (no really, it is. I laughed when I typed wrong) because I am just reminded that I’m strong enough for any challenge I find myself in and it’s okay to acknowledge exactly how I feel. Why? Because other people in the world need to know they aren’t alone and if that means I have to speak up, then so be it.

Anyway, I’m actually looking forward to September. I have gotten into the habit of setting Intentions with each new month (well, I set them with the New Moon really). For a while, I’ll take time to look over my Intentions from last month and see which ones were manifested and which were not. Then I think about my Ideal Life and I ask myself, “What would make my current life aligned with my Ideal Life?” and I set my intentions that way.

As a rule of thumb, I usually shoot for 6 BIG Intentions that can be broken down into smaller goals. For the first time ever, I’ve decided to share them here.

September 2013 Intentions

Intention (n.): (1) a determination to act in a certain way;  (2) what one intends to do or bring about; (3) the object for which a prayer, mass or pious act is offered; (4) a process of manner of healing incised wounds; (5) a concept considered as the product of attention directed to an object of knowledge.

  1. Secure full-time employment that aligns with the benefits I have outlined for myself and a pay grade which will allow me to fully support myself AND move me towards my goals of financial stability
  2. Identify and establish relationships of mentorship (identify characteristics I wish to develop in myself; identify multiple people who hold these characteristics and start conversations with them about possible mentorship relationships)
  3. Increased blog traffic for my personal finance and wealth-building blog, Young, Gifted, Black & Broke (Goal: 250 hits on blog for the month and increase the number of Twitter followers to 50)
  4. Increased blog traffic for this blog, A Glimpse Into My Life (Goal: 750 hits on blog for the month and increased readers to 75 followers)
  5. Develop my Personal Three-Year Plan (think a five-year plan but for the next three years. Why? I want to accomplish these things by 30).

What are your Intentions for the month of September?

Leave a Reply

