A Glimpse Into My Life

See it through my eyes & understand me a little more

20 Questions with @FromRaeWithLove (#31WriteNow)

Every Wednesday, @FromRaeWithLove shares 20 questions with her TL/followers. These questions are awesome and you get to learn a lot about people you’re following. As a bonus, you get to follow more like-minded people that you may otherwise have never known about. Last Wednesday (Aug. 14th, 2013), I didn’t participate in #20WithRae because I was NOT feeling well at all. But I asked @FromRaeWithLove if I could blog about it and she told me that I sure could. So see my answers below!

Q1. Do you have a blog? Topic? #20withRae

Yes. I have two blogs! One has a very personal focus (MissCJayne). The other is chronicling my journey in breaking the cycle of poverty and building wealth for myself (Young, Gifted, Black & Broke).

Q2. How long have you been writing/creating? #20withRae

I’ve been writing since I was in the 2nd grade. I used to get in “trouble” all of the time for writing little stories in the margins of my tests because I would finish early. Most of the remarks from my teachers included things like, “I don’t know how she keeps up with the work if she’s daydreaming, doodling and writing other things. She doesn’t stay on task.” LOL

However, there was a period in time where I didn’t take it seriously. Recent events have been pushing me to get back into writing seriously.

Q3. Who are your mentors? #20withRae

Hmm, I don’t know if I have any mentors. I do know that I look up to my childhood friend Christiana Harrell, a self-published author who just LOVES to write and shares her gift with everyone. She describes her connection to writing in her bio on her website (linked above) by saying “Writing is my life. I don’t do it to make money. I do it because I enjoy it and I love the escape that comes with it. If I win awards with this gift that’s fine. If I don’t, that’s fine too. At least, I’ll have left something behind.”

I know that I had a question that this one made me think of — how do you identify a mentor? 

Q4. Have you ever submitted your work to a literary journal or for a print mag? #20withRae

Once when I was younger (in the 4th to 6th grade), my Gifted and Talented teacher submitted my work to this compilation book called Gestures. My Mom still has copies of those books. Other than that, I haven’t (probably because I’m afraid of rejection and I have a LOT of self-doubt).

Q5. Would you write under a pen name? #20withRae

This blog is sorta under a pen name, so I guess I would. I think my name is a regular, run-of-the-mill name and doesn’t really stand out anyway. LOL

Q6. Where do you get your creative ideas from?  What inspires you most? #20withRae

Life. Most of my creative ideas come about when I’m fighting my way out of a depressive episode. Other than that, I look for writing prompts or I go outside. One time, I even rode the bus for an hour.

Q7. Do you write from life events?  Would you write about your family? #20withRae

I do write from life events and I would write about my family. The thing that gets tricky in writing about family members is that other people don’t get the full story. I’m always afraid that people are going to react harshly to the folks that are intensely important to me, so sometimes I’m a bit hesitant to write about them.

Q8.  How often do you write? #20withRae

I write a little bit every day. I journal more often now (it helps me to keep my sanity) and I blog on a regular basis.

Q9. What is the best environment for you to write/create in? Music? Day or night? Home or in a cafe? #20withRae

Inside. I get distracted when I’m outside. I use music if I’m in a sad mood because it helps to life my spirits and I can write a bit easier that way. I’m not sure if I’ve noticed an inclination to write in the day versus the night though. And home is always the best place to write for me. If I’m outside (library or cafe), then I end up people watching.

Q10. Does it matter to you if your friends read or care about your writing? #20withRae

I don’t care if they read or care about my writing. What bothers me is that sometimes they feel I’ve been unfair in the things that I say. But I just gently remind them that my writing, especially when it’s personal, is about how I experience life. It’s not about them and it’s hurtful that they would approach me in that manner. Now, I’m not sure if they read my writing at all.

Q11.  What is your ultimate writing goal? #20withRae

I would like to have written a book about my life (I have a lot to tell); I would like to have written a fictional piece (I think this #NaNoWriMo is going to be the one I finally finish what I start lol); and I’d like to be published in a popular magazine or on Oprah’s website. Seriously.

Q12. What writers on Twitter do you follow? #20withRae

I follow @StacyAustralia. But that’s all I know of that writes. Hmm, maybe I should ask people if they write. lol

Q13. What writer-driven hashtags do you follow on twitter?  What twitter chats for writers, creators? #20withRae

I don’t know of any. I plan to check back on the answers to this question though and start following them. lol

Q14. If you got a rejection letter from your favorite author or publication, how would you handle it? #20withRae

Me? Rejection?!? Oh…I’d cry. Like real tears. For maybe a day or two. Then I’d question why for approximately three days. Then I’d follow-up within a week to ask why and get feedback. Hopefully, they’d be open to giving feedback so I could make some changes and resubmit. Is that how this works? lol

Q15. How are you inspired by other creatives? #20withRae

I’m usually inspired by the way other creatives use words or art mediums. Do they use them differently or more traditionally? I’m also inspired by my friend @Aunt_Flo who makes jewelry…which now that I think about it, I wonder, is this weird? lol

Q16. Do you cross post with other bloggers? Where? #20withRae

No, I don’t. I’m not opposed to this idea; I just need to become better at being social.

Q17. Please list your recommendation for books writers should read – fiction or non-fiction.  Books that changed your life. #20withRae

I don’t know that I have any recommendations. But on the topic of books that changed my life, I will ALWAYS mention Mildred D. Taylor’s “Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry” and “Bridge to Terabithia” by Katherine Patterson. I love those books so much that if I ever had a child who said they didn’t like them, I’d send them away for a week and wonder how did I fail as a parent. LOL

Q18. Have you ever thought about attending a writer’s workshop? Which one? Did you apply? #20withRae

I haven’t but because of this question, I want to look into them now.

Q19. Would you self-publish? What platform? #20withRae

I think I would. I have to look into this though as I know nothing about it.

Q20. Where would you like to see your work in five years? #20withRae

RE: My Financial Story — On Oprah’s website. In Oprah’s magazine (or another popular magazine). Everything else? On a Best Seller’s List.

 

2 responses to “20 Questions with @FromRaeWithLove (#31WriteNow)

  1. stacyaustralia August 19, 2013 at 1:46 pm

    I love this!! Thanks for giving me a shout out. Seriously, that means a lot. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

