A Glimpse Into My Life

See it through my eyes & understand me a little more

Morning Reflections 12/03/12 – (#31DaysOfAffirming)

Today, I woke up with a calm over my spirit. I can’t remember the last time I’ve felt so peaceful. In that moment, I thought to myself, “It would be great it more people got on board for the 31 Days of Affirming Challenge! I could — ” and with that, I had to pause. I started to get angry because I felt that not enough people were in on this. I started to judge others because I felt that they couldn’t take 31 days, ONE month, and cut out the craziness on the internet. DIDN’T THEY GET THAT THIS WAS BIGGER THAN THE NEGATIVITY? Didn’t they get that this was about empowering one another? But the craziest thought I had was, “I bet if I were one of those popular bloggers, that people would have jumped on board a long time ago.”

Then I had to pause. You see? That’s a spirit of judgement and a spirit of jealousy. You can’t have those feelings if you’re really about uplifting others. Besides, I began to ask myself, “Was this really about me and what I wanted to accomplish? Or was this really about lifting and affirming others as I’ve been saying it is?”

At the core of it, it is about affirming others. Today, I recognized that the self-esteem issues I’ve been dealing with AND the need to be perfect (whatever that means) started to take over my thoughts around this challenge. I wanted to touch so many people and lift them up in their troubles (not a bad thing) BUT there was a small part of me that wanted the recognition that this was successful and we all know that our society/community likes to measure the success of something by the number of people you touch. Or just by numbers. And that’s not what this is about. This is about the feelings that people get when they read the words that are typed. This is about how great a person feels when they search for “31 Days of Affirming” and find others posting positive messages. I have to remember that numbers really don’t count when it comes to the experiences that people have.

With that recognition and re-commitment, I reminded myself: “Affirming others is not about whether or not people say thank you or even remember my name. It’s not about how I could profit from this. It’s not about how I grow materialistically as a person. No. It’s about being entrusted with the vision, insight, and courage to contribute to my community in the most positive way I can. It is about others which means I have to decrease myself and my need for recognition in the process. At the end of the day, this is about how others are empowered and in turn, how empowering others reminds me of my own power. This is about raising the awareness of others and their spiritual talents. It’s not about me.”

With that simple reminder, I once again felt the peace I woke up with.

Affirmation: I AFFIRM others and they in turn, affirm me.

Leave a Reply

