A Glimpse Into My Life

See it through my eyes & understand me a little more

Social-Networking Sites: Are They Right For You?

This blog topic, like many others that I write, was spur of the moment. During a sneezing attack while on Twitter, I wondered, “How would a person know if a social networking site was for them?” Again, this came about during a sneezing attack which means that most of these ideas are Benedryl-induced. That…that is my disclaimer.

Many questions have been asked about sites that allow people to congregate and interact with like-minded people that they would otherwise NEVER meet. The most “popular” of these sites, Facebook & Twitter (I use these two because my login information is saved to my phone), have come under fire. There are issues with privacy (Facebook), server space (think Twitter and its infamous fail whale), cliques (well that’s everywhere), and other things that people are often wary about. If these regular issues don’t sit well with you, then of course, social networking might NOT be your thing.

Then there are the oft forgotten issues that people never think about…until they’ve thought of a clever username (that others are sure to have) and that great alphanumeric password (that they are sure to forget). So, I present to you:

REASONS THAT SOCIAL-NETWORKING SITES ARE NOT FOR YOU

1. Grammar and Sentence Construction are “Near and Dear” to your heart

It’s a tricky game, that one of sentence construction. It’s one that many people lose. By lose, I do mean “fail to win”. I’m often appalled by the number of people who see nothing wrong with their very apparent errors. It literally makes my soul hurt. This is especially noticeable on Twitter where there is an ingenious tool that allows you to RT (or Re-Tweet) the 140 (or less) statement of another user. It is here that I realize just how many people struggle with grammar because many people see nothing wrong with RTing a sentence that is just…wrong.

*Same holds for spelling.

2.  Commonly confused words being confused often bother you.

When I say bother you, I don’t mean that you go, “Oh…look they meant to use lets (as in allows) and not let’s (as in let us). I mean, you wish that there was a strike-through feature OR that you could report them as Spam because their mistake is an obvious one and since you know it, everyone should know it! Yes. If this you, then I invite you to join a support group…yet to be named…and yet to be scheduled for a meeting. I will be there. You just bring the cookies. By joining said support group, I will also mention that you might want to think twice before joining that networking site.

3. Do you feel the need to punch a Baby when people “Type L!k3 diis!”?

I probably did that wrong. I don’t want to go copy anyone’s clever (sarcasm) status. I would hate to piss on their wittiness…because well, I’m sure they tried very hard to figure out how to butcher the language that we speak in such a way that makes other people cry. All because it took us 4 minutes and the only thing we left that status with was a migraine and a devalued appreciation for our human brother/sister. Yes. It is that deep.

*There are exceptions of course. By exceptions, I mean, there are people who are allowed to type like that because they are a teenager at a failing school in America. Point of caution: I wouldn’t use that as an excuse to be cool. I do see Universities/Colleges googling students in the future and denying admission behind this…or is that just me?

4. Everyone is an Expert…

By expert I mean, they apply the things that work for them to everyone and quickly denounce any person and their idea should they disagree. I see many experts, from ones on “relationships with significant others” to “how you should live your life.” In each case, I’m filled with a sense of dread…and the sudden urge to find a ladder and sit on my roof. I find it disheartening to know that so many would slam others simply because they choose to disagree (especially if they are an “everyone needs to be original and/or free thinking” kind of person). I’m also reminded of my 8th grade English teacher (I think she taught English) and I didn’t like her in 1999-2000 and I still don’t like her now.

Other Signs That Social-Networking Sites Are NOT For You:

5. You dislike people who don’t know the difference between constructive criticism and destroying the esteem of others for the sake of a laugh…or whatever.

6. You really do enjoy the individuality of others. Social networking is proof that too many of us enjoy saying/doing/speaking/acting as others.

7. You despise those who make jokes of debilitating diseases/illnesses. There’s a lot of this that happens.

8. You Want To Smack A Person That Capitalizes Every Word Of The Sentence As Though It Is A Proper Noun Or Their Tweet/Status/Update Is The Title Of Some Ebony and/or New York Times Bestseller. How do you know if this is you? Did you want to punch me after reading that? Yeah…this is you.

While I’m sure there are other signs that you should REALLY think twice before joining a social networking site, these are the ones that the Benedryl brought to me in a vision. I hope that you can learn from my Pet Peeves so as not to make the same mistakes.

*

4 responses to “Social-Networking Sites: Are They Right For You?

  1. Kayana July 29, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    Lol, Court I need to hang out with you…SOON! Why are you on social networks b/c they don’t seem to be “right” for you? lol

    • Miss C. Jayne July 30, 2010 at 9:06 am

      The psychologist in me won’t allow me to delete all of my accounts and stay gone. That and I don’t like talking on the phone to those I remain in contact with the most. lol

  2. Kayana July 30, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    That’s interesting (the psychologist in you) but I understand the keeping in contact with people via social networks…I don’t like talking on the phone either.

  3. Courtney July 31, 2010 at 12:13 am

    Yeah. I just sit back and say, “Hmmm…” ESPECIALLY when I see “pack behavior” (also known as Groupthink) take place.

Leave a Reply

